The instructions for the evaluation function in the Norwegian

Development Aid Administration

The formal instructions for the Norwegian Agency for Development Cooperation (Norad), approved by Royal Decree on 31 January 2020, state that one of the Agency's primary tasks is to initiate and perform independent evaluations of development cooperation and Norway's International Climate and Forest Initiative. This document clarifies the scope of evaluations in the aid administration and specifies the division of responsibilities between the Ministry of Foreign Affairs and the Ministry of Climate and Environment and Norad.

These instructions have been drawn up by the Ministry of Foreign Affairs and the Ministry of Climate and Environment. These instructions enter into force on 1 January 2022 and replace the previous instructions of 1 December 2015.

1. Purpose and Objectives

The purpose of evaluations in aid administration is in part to promote a knowledge-based approach to Norwegian development cooperation, and in part to hold Norwegian development policy actors accountable for the management of funds. The following objectives apply to all evaluations to be carried out:

- they follow recognised professional standards.
- they have credibility and are independent.
- they are relevant.
- they promote learning and use of knowledge.

2. Scope

Evaluations may be carried out on all programmes and activities that are ODA-reportable under the budgets of the Ministry of Foreign Affairs and the Ministry of Climate and Environment.

Evaluations are to follow the procedures and standards set out in the document 'Evaluation strategy and procedures' and are to be carried out in line with the guidelines on evaluation set out in the Regulations for Financial Management in Central Government and in the OECD DAC quality standards for development evaluation.

3. Division of responsibilities

Activities carried out by Norad fall under the scope of the evaluations. Therefore, the head of evaluation at Norad is to report directly to the Secretary Generals of the Ministry of Foreign Affairs and the Ministry of Climate and Environment, respectively.